Benfield School Local Governing Committee Members

Within the NEAT scheme of delegation we have agreed that the local governing committee of each non-religious school will have the following members:
  • two parent members (elected by parents of pupils at the school)
  • one staff member (elected by staff of the school)
  • headteacher member (ex-officio)
  • eight members approved by the NEAT board of directors.
With the exception of the headteacher and staff members, all local governing committee members are volunteers although they may claim expenses under certain circumstances.
We publish profiles of each of our local governing committee members below.
The terms of office of all members are four years, except:
  • any co-opted governors where the term of office is one year
  • ex-officio appointments which are based on the person holding a particular office and continue as long as the person remains in post.

Mr Philip Anderson

Trust Member

Appointed by the Trust Board: 05.07.19
Term of office to: 04.07.23
Declared interests: Teach First - Employee(from August 2019)

Angela Birt

Trust Member (Vice-chair)

Appointed by Trust Board: 19.10.18
Term of office to: 18.10.21
Declared interests: Newcastle upon Tyne NHS Hospitals Trust -Employee

Ray Blythe

Parent Member

Elected by the parents/carers of Benfield School: 18.06.19
Term of office to: 17.06.23
Declared interests: Leonard Cheshire, Employee (from May 2019)

Mr Richard Carr


Ex-officio position based on role as Headteacher.
Declared interests:
NEAT, Employee - Headteacher at Benfield School (from September 2018)
Walkergate Community School - Governor (from September 2018)

Steph Murray

Staff Member

Appointed: 11.03.21
Term of office to: 10.03.25

Declared interests: NEAT - Employee Benfield School

Rebecca Nicholson

Trust Member

Appointed by Trust Board: 27.06.18
Term of office ends: 26.06.21
Declared interests: None

Carolyn Reay

Trust Member

Appointed by Trust Board: 17.03.21
Term of office to: 16.03.25
Declared interests: NEAT, employee

Gail Rochester

Trust Member (Chair)

Appointed by Trust Board: 19.10.18
Term of Office to: 18.10.21
Declared interests: Babington - Employee (from October 2020)
You can hear more about Gail's experiences as local governing committee member in the profile below:

Sarah Studholme

Parent Member

Elected by parents of Benfield School: 29.06.21
Term of office ends: 28.06.25
Declared interests: NEAT - Employee, Benfield School
You can hear more about Sarah and why she became a member of Benfield's local governing committee in the profiles below:

Former LGC member in the last twelve months - Karl Dixon-Myers

Appointed by the NEAT Board of Directors: 21.01.19 Resigned 20.08.21

Declared interests: Department of Education, Employee - since Oct 17

Former LGC Member in the last twelve months - Shaun Edge

Appointed by Trust Board: 21.01.19\ Resigned: 19.05.21

Declared interests: Northern Education Trust, Employee - since Sept 2016
Department for Education - School Leaders panel - since June 2020

Former LGC member in the last twelve months - Eleanor Rickard

Elected by the staff of Benfield School: 20.12.18 Resigned: 31.12.20
Declared interests: NEAT: Employee - Benfield School

Former LGC member in the last twelve months - Michael White

Appointed by Trust Board: 03.04.19 Resigned: 10.11.20
Declared interests:
Whites Consultancy - Owner (from 2016)
NEAT Academy Trust - Director (from March 2018)
NEAT Active Ltd - Director (from June 2019)